Forms

Other articles in this category

Search More Content

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Configuring Form Confirmations

Upon submitting a form in Gravity Forms, the user will be presented with a message or directed to a new page. By default, this is a simple message letting them know that the form has been successfully submitted and thanking them for their submission. In this article, we will show you how to change your confirmation message, as well as create custom confirmation messages based on the content that is submitted.

Editing or Creating a Confirmation

This article assumes that you have already created the form that you want to add or change the confirmation message for. If you have not yet created the form, you may review our article on creating forms to get started.

  1. Access your form by clicking on Forms from the left side navigation menu, and then clicking on the title of the form that you want to modify the confirmation message for.
  2. To access the confirmations for that form, hover over Settings on the top menu, and click on Confirmations.
  3. You will see a list of available confirmations. If you want to edit an existing confirmation, click on its title. To add a new confirmation, click the Add New button. Refer to the Confirmations List Page article for more information on available actions for this page.

Confirmation Settings

When editing a Confirmation, the following settings are available:

  • Confirmation Name
    Name of the confirmation. This is simply to help you identify the confirmation. It is not displayed to the user.
  • Confirmation Type
    Type of confirmation. The options are Text, Page, and Redirect.
  • Message
    The body of the confirmation. This is displayed to the user upon form submission.
  • Conditional Logic
    Just like notifications support conditional logic, additional confirmations support conditional logic as well. If you select the option to enable conditional logic, you can then configure your conditions. The Default Confirmation doesn’t support conditional logic. For more information on conditional logic, take a look at this article.

Text Confirmations

text-confirmations
Text confirmations allow you to display a bit of text to the user upon submission. If you need to thank the user for their submission, this is the best and most popular option for doing so.

There’s not much to configuring a standard text notification. Select the Text option, and begin writing your confirmation message in the box below. Use the Add Media button to add an image or video. If you want to disable the auto formatting of the text, enable the checkbox labeled Disable Auto-formatting.

Page Confirmations

page-confirmations
With the Page setting within the Confirmation Type options, you will be able to set a page within your site that the user will be sent to upon submitting the form. To configure your confirmation page, use the dropdown labeled Page to select the page you want the user to be delivered to.

With a custom confirmation page option, you may also have the form data sent to the page. For example, if you want the information on the page to change based on the form information submitted, you may select the checkbox labeled Redirect Query String and add merge tags to the box. Example:

phone={Phone:1}&email={Email:2}

Redirect Confirmations

redirect-confirmations
If you want the user to be redirected to another location such as an external site upon submitting the form, you may set the Redirect option. To do so, select Redirect as the Confirmation Type, and enter the full URL that you want the user to be redirected to in the Redirect URL field.

Just like the page confirmation type, you can also pass the form information via a query string in the URL. Select the checkbox labeled Redirect Query String and add merge tags to the box.

Changing the Default Confirmation Message

To display a custom confirmation message, you will need to edit the Default Confirmation or create a new confirmation with conditional logic enabled. The Default Confirmation will be used if the logic fails on additional confirmations. The form needs to always process one confirmation, and therefore the Default Confirmation cannot be deleted, removed, or inactivated.

Therefore, if you want to use the same confirmation for all users submitting the form, customize the Default Confirmation. If you want to show a different confirmation based on conditional logic, add as many new confirmations as you may need and configure conditional logic for them.

For more advanced information on confirmation messages, take a look at our article on confirmation message conditional logic in which you will learn how to display different confirmation messages based on the form content.